Beautiful East Podlaskie

Podlaskie Voivodeship is the most northward voivodeship of Poland. It borders on two countries: Belorussia on the east (260km) a Lithuania on the north (104km). In the Northernwest, it neighbours Warmia-Masurian Voivodeship and in the west and in southwest – Mazowieckie Voivodeship.

In the south, on a part of the river Bug it borders Lubelskie Voivodeship. Podlaskie region is divided into 17 districts (second level of local government administration in Poland) including 3 municipal districts – Białystok, Suwałki, Łomża and 118 local districts. Białystok with almost 300 thousand inhabitants is its capital city. Other bigger cities in the region include Suwałki (about 70 thousand inhabitants) and Łomża (about 64 thousand inhabitants).

The division into geographical areas does not coincide with administrative borders. The major part of the voivodeship is situated on the area of the North Podlasie Lowland, while its northern part is a fragment of the Lithuanian Lake District.Within Podlaskie voivodeship there are the following mezoregions: the Suwałki Lake District, the Augustowska Plain, Kolno Plateau, Biebrza Basin, Białystok Plateau, Sokólskie Hills, Wysokomazowiecka Plateau, The Narew Valley, Bielsk Plain, the Drohiczyn Plateau (as Northern Podlasie Lowland units). The southern border of Podlaskie Voivodeship is outlined by river Bug.
The following institutions take care of tourist development in the region:

Podlaska Regional Tourism Organization

ul. Malmeda 6

15-440 Białystok

tel.(85) 653 77 97

tel.(85) 732 68 31

fax.(85) 732 68 31


Education, Sports and Tourism Department of Podlaskie voivodeship

ul. Kardynała Stefana Wyszyńskiego 1

15-888 Białystok

tel.(85) 74 85 171

fax.(85) 74 97 481


Latest in Gallery